10 Things I Learned from The Beatles

The Beatles are, hands down, the greatest band in the world. There will never be another band with lyrics as brilliant and music as influential as theirs. Although I’m also a Lennon fan, I’ve always been more of a Beatlemaniac. The first Beatles album I listened to (out of curiousity) was Please Please Me (1963) and was immediately hooked after that. I gradually continued to listen to the rest of their albums from A Hard Day’s Night (1964) all the way to Let It Be (1970) – I literally grew with their music. The man I am today and my perceptions in life are based on lessons learned from experiences but, as dramatic as it may sound, The Beatles have also played a role in my life growing up. These are the (top) 10 things I learned from The Beatles…

 

10. I Could Set You Free (Go to Him) – I’ve been in a couple of relationships in the past. I won’t deny they mostly ended becoz of me but I’ll admit that some did end with the girl breaking my heart. Keeping a mentality with the lyrics of Anna (Go to Him) is what made moving on from a broken heart easier.

9. You’re Going to Lose That Girl – Back then, I was – in a better term without sounding like a total douchebag – a serial monogamist. I’ll admit that when a girl would tell me her man wasn’t treating her right, that’d usually be my cue to make a move. Were Lennon/McCartney’s lyrics here intended to influence a guy’s mind that way? Maybe. All I know is it definitely influenced mine. You may call me a jerk but hey, it’s also how I got the girl who eventually became my wife.

8. I Can’t Tell You But I Know It’s Mine  Whoever says they’re fine being on their own is a fucking liar; And those who say they don’t need friends are usually just the ones nobody wants to befriend. No matter what you say, no man is an island and it’s always better to get by With A Little Help From My Friends.

7. LSD – John Lennon’s (then 4-year-old) son Julian came home from school one day with a drawing of his classmate Lucy O’Donnell (later Lucy Vodden) and called it “Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds” – this was the song’s real inspiration; But when I first heard this song, I was told the blind rumor that it was about LSD (a.k.a. Acid) – which led me to research about it since I didn’t know what LSD was at the time. I eventually learned about weed, cocaine, hash and ecstacy as well but that’s a different story altogether.

Related Story: ‘Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds’ dies at age 46.

 

6. I Know How To Say “Victory to God Divine” in Sanskrit – If you’ve been singing along “Jai Guru Deva Om” to Across The Universe then, you know how to say it too.

5. Life Is Too Short For Fighting – Sure, my wife and I have our occasional disagreements but no matter what it is, we have a rule wherein we make it a point to not go to sleep angry at each other. We Can Work It Out sings “Life is very short, and there’s no time for fussing and fighting, my friend” – It’s something that I believe should apply in every relationship between couples and basically between people in general.

4. Count Me Out – The words in Revolution has a strong influence to my opinions on war. I do not like the idea of war. I never understood the logic of it all nor do I feel the need to understand it… I just think it’s stupid. It’s as Lennon sings “When you talk about destruction, Don’t you know you can count me out!”

3. Let It Be – Because of this song, “Let it be” has always been something I tell myself whenever I find myself in times of trouble.

2. Anytime You Feel The Pain… Refrain – Don’t carry the world upon your shoulders… Don’t you know that it’s a fool who plays it cool… You have found her, now go and get her.. Take a sad song and make it better. Hey Jude just had so many lines that practically told me how to get through life. This is also one of my all-time favourite songs.

1. All You Need Is Love – There’s nothing you can do that can’t be done… Nothing you can do but you can learn how to be you in time.. Nowhere you can be that isn’t where you’re meant to be. I have money. I have a lot material things; But personally, all those don’t mean shit coz in the end, you can’t take it with you when you die. If I had to give all of those up for love, I would… coz all I need is love.

 

So many things to say about so many Beatles songs but I’ll just stick to ten. It’s like I always say: No matter what you’re doing, However you’re feeling, There’s a Beatles song for everything. If you’re one of those (rare) people who aren’t familiar with The Beatles, do give their music a listen coz they truly won’t disappoint. But if you’re one of those people who just simply don’t like The Beatles, then go Follow the Sun and please stop reading my blog.

 

Leave a Reply

