A Delfonic Moment of Clarity

It’s 9:52 in the evening. I’m in my study, working on a training module that I’ll be using tomorrow on the new batch of trainees at the Information Technology company I work for. Windows behind me open for when I smoke – since I think better with a cigarette; Lights on and a cup of coffee on my desk to keep me awake; and my stereo on at semi-medium volume, playing my iPod’s playlist “Mild” on loop to keep my mood relaxed.

My 4-year-old daughter Phoebe walks in to see how I’m doing – which she usually does when it’s close to her bedtime. She goes over to my stereo and briefly stares at it. My lil’ girl has a fascination with buttons so she proceeds to press on forward a few times then pause. “Ok honey, press play for daddy now please.” – and so she does. I don’t recall what songs I’ve got on that playlist anymore as I’ve just uploaded loads of tracks randomly through the years. Once Phoebe hit that play button, a song I haven’t heard in a while opens with its electric sitar intro – Didn’t I (Blow Your Mind This Time) by The Delfonics.

As soon as the vocals of William Hart begins, my daughter closes her eyes, smiles, raises her arms forward and starts to slowly sway, slowdancing with herself.

 

I gave my heart and soul to you, girl
Didn’t I do it baby…. didn’t I do it baby

 

Mesmerized by my child’s innocence, I sit and watch as she sways along to this 1970 single. Suddenly, my daughter begins to slowly disappear while the lights in the room start to dim. Everything goes pitch-black for a second.

I’ve tried so many times and that’s no lie
It seems to make you laugh each time I cry

I open my eyes and I’m suddenly laying on a blanket on a terrace garden under a blue sky. I look to my right and I see The Delfonics continue to play out of a Philips AZ1202 boombox.

“God, I love this song!” I hear a voice say. I get up and look behind me and see my highschool girlfriend Erin. It’s 1998.

Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I, oh
Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I,
Listen


I stop and stare at her, enchanted, as she begins to sway to the music with her eyes closed and arms spread out, barefoot in her white, floral summer dress. The sun shining behind her making her look like an angel walking out of Heaven. A girl so full of spirit that I couldn’t help but be in love with her. She looks to me with her big brown eyes and smiles with her distinctive crooked smile. She reaches her arms out towards me.

Ten times or more, yes, I’ve walked out that door
Get this into your head, there’ll be no more

We’re in each other’s arms, slowdancing. Her long redhair smells of sweet lilacs. Her skin so soft, so smooth, like peaches and cream. I hold her tight, she holds me tighter.

Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I, oh
Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I

We look into each other’s eyes in silence. My hands on her face while my thumbs rub her rosy cheeks. Her hands behind my neck while her fingers run through my hair. We share our first kiss.

Didn’t I do it baby… didn’t I do it baby

Months later, she wanted to explore the world and start off by going to a college overseas. She asked me to go with her.

Ten times or more, yes, I’ve walked out that door

I really wanted to but I had so much good things going on where I was and I just wasn’t ready to give it up at the time.

Get this into your head, there’ll be no more

We eventually never hear from each other again.

Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I, oh

A flash of light and I’m back in my study room.

Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I

My daughter runs to me and jumps on my lap. She hugs me while giggling with amusement from her dance. My wife’s standing at the door, smiling at the sight of both of us. I smile back.

Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I, oh

Phoebe kisses me goodnight then runs along with her mother to get ready for bed.

Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I

I start to cry.

Copyright © 2012 by FV Nicolas

** In case you’re not familiar with the soul classic, here it is. – fvn

 

Leave a Reply

